OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

The Women's Place

Home » News » Highlighting Accomplishments

Highlighting Accomplishments

As we become aware of honors and promotions received by Ohio State women, we have added news articles about them to our Highlighting Accomplishments feature to share their success and to showcase it as an example to inspire other women. In addition, as the collection of articles grows, we're creating a repository of Ohio State's women's accomplishments. The Women's Place would like to congratulate the following women for the recognition they have received.

If you know of an Ohio State woman, faculty or staff, who has received national or international recognition, nominate her to be included in our Highlighting Accomplishments feature. Email your suggestions to womensplace@osu.edu — self nominations are welcome!


Melnyk elected to Institute of Medicine
Oct 22, 2013 - 

Portrait of Bernadette MelnykBernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, CPNP/PMHNP, FNAP, FAAN, currently the associate vice president for health promotion, university chief wellness officer, and dean of the College of Nursing, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. More information

Box-Steffensmeier receives 2013 Warren E Miller Award
Oct 16, 2013 - 

Portrait of Janet Box-SteffensmeierJanet Box-Steffensmeier, professor of political science, received the 2013 Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research Council. More information

Wewers receives $18.7 million federal grant
Sep 19, 2013 - 

Portrait of Mary Ellen WewersMary Ellen Wewers, professor of health behavior and health promotion, has received a grant to establish a research center devoted to the study of tobacco use patterns, industry marketing practices and public perceptions that will help the Food and Drug Administration put science behind its new role in regulating tobacco. Wewers is a principal investigator on the grant and is co-leading the center with oncologist Peter Shields, deputy director of the OSUCCC and a specialist in identifying biomarkers to assess lifestyle-related cancer risk factors. More information

Allen receives $20 million NSF grant
Sep 19, 2013 - 

Portrait of Heather AllenHeather Allen, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, is one of a group of top interdisciplinary researchers from nine universities around the country affiliated with the Center for Aerosol Impacts on Climate and the Environment (CAICE), led by the University of California, San Diego. CAICE was just awarded a new five-year, $20 million grant from the National Science Foundation that will accelerate their research on aerosols — miniscule particles suspended in gas, smoke, mist, or fog — that are a major driver of climate change and have major impacts. More information

Chou receives NSF CAREER Award
Aug 14, 2013 - 

Portrait of Ching-Shan ChouChing-Shan Chou, assistant professor of mathematics, received the National Science Foundation’s NSF CAREER Award, NSF’s top award for outstanding junior faculty members. More information.

Yilmazer receives the AAFCS Emerging Scholar Award
Jul 27, 2013 - 

Portrait of Tansel YilmazerTansel Yilmazer, assistant professor in the Department of Human Sciences, received the Emerging Scholar Award from the Annual Meeting of the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences in Houston, Texas. More information.

Andrews wins 2013 International Convention of Asia Scholars Book Prize
Jul 18, 2013 - 

Portrait of Julia AndrewsJulia Andrews, professor in the Department of History of Art and a specialist in Chinese art, and her co-author Kuiyi Shen received the 2013 International Convention of Asia Scholars (ICAS) Book Prize in the Humanities for their book, "The Art of Modern China." More information.

Box-Steffensmeier receives the 2013 Political Methodology Career Achievement Award
Jul 15, 2013 - 

JPortrait of Janet Box-Steffensmeieranet Box-Steffensmeier, the Vernal Riffe Professor of Political Science and University Distinguished Scholar, has been selected as the recipient of the 2013 Political Methodology Career Achievement Award by the American Political Science Association. More information.

Daley honored as 2013 Academy of Nursing Education Fellow
Jun 06, 2013 - 

Portrait of Linda DaleyLinda Daley, associate dean for prelicensure programs at the College of Nursing, has been selected for induction into the prestigious National League for Nursing Academy of Nursing Education. More information.

Gallagher-Ford elected to National Academies of Practice
May 28, 2013 - 

Portrait of Lynn Gallagher-FordLynn Gallagher-Ford, director of the College of Nursing Center for Transdisciplinary Evidence-Based Practice, has been elected as a distinguished practitioner and fellow member of the National Academies of Practice. More information.

Showing 21 - 30 of 113 Articles | Page 3 of 12

Also in the News section: