OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

The Women's Place

Home » Advocates & Allies » Initiative Collaborators » Advocates and Allies Advisory Council

Advocates and Allies Advisory Council

Decorative graphic

The Advocates & Allies Advisory Council (AAAC) is composed of women faculty and staff who want to help further gender and minority equity at Ohio State.

The AAAC’s role is to select and advise Advocates (senior male faculty), provide them feedback, and help them understand and remain in touch with the experience of women and underrepresented minorities in our academic climate. The AAAC and Advocate Coordinator, Professor and Associate Dean in the College of Engineering Rudy Buchheit, will select the Advocates from a list of those nominated, review the Advocates’ plans, and advise them on their activities.

The term of appointment to the AAAC is for 3 years, except for the following permanent members: Director of The Women’s Place Jennifer Beard; Program PI Professor Emerita Hazel Morrow-Jones; and the AAAC Co-chairs Associate Vice President Mary Juhas and Professor Joan Herbers.

Portrait of Lisa M. AbramsLisa M. Abrams

Director
Department of Engineering Education
abrams.34@osu.edu

Portrait of Gunjan AgarwalGunjan Agarwal

Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
agarwal.60@osu.edu

Portrait of Jennifer BeardJennifer Beard

Director
The Women's Place
beard.140@osu.edu

Portrait of Heather BrodHeather Brod

Director
ADM-Medicine Administration
brod.3@osu.edu

Portrait of Mary Jo Burkhard
Mary Jo Burkhard

Associate Dean
Veterinary Medicine Administration
burkhard.19@osu.edu

Portrait of Virginia Cope
Virginia Cope

Associate Dean
Newark Campus
cope.38@osu.edu

Portrait of Joan Herbers
Joan Herbers

AAAC Co-chair
Professor
Evolution, Ecology & Organismal Biology
Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies
herbers.4@osu.edu

Portrait of Mary Juhas
Mary Juhas

AAAC Co-chair
Associate Vice President
Ohio State ADVANCE
Professor
Materials Science Engineering
juhas.1@osu.edu

Portrait of Valerie Kinloch
Valerie Kinloch

Professor
Department of Teaching & Learning Administration
Associate Dean
College of Education & Human Ecology
kinloch.2@osu.edu

Portrait of Jun Liu
Jun Liu

Associate Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Department of Ophthamology
liu.314@osu.edu

Portrait of Hazel Morrow-Jones
Hazel Morrow-Jones

Grant Co-PI
Professor Emerita
Knowlton School of Architecture
morrow-jones.1@osu.edu

Portrait of Nicole Nieto
Nicole Nieto

Program Manager
Ohio State ADVANCE
nieto.12@osu.edu

Portrait of Nikole PatsonNikole Patson

Assistant Professor
Department of Psycholgy
patson.3@osu.edu

Portrait of Helen PattonHelen Patton

Director
Office of the Chief Information Officer Security Operations
patton.91@osu.edu

Portrait of Annika PeterAnnika Peter

Assistant Professor
Department of Astronomy
peter.33@osu.edu

Portrait of Cynthia PrestonCynthia Preston

Assistant Professor
Department of Research and Education
preston.7@osu.edu

Portrait of Kimberly ShumateKimberly Shumate

Associate Vice President
Department of Human Resources Business Partners
shumate.13@osu.edu

Portrait of Joanne TurnerJoanne Turner

Professor
Department of Microbial Infection and Immunity
turner.598@osu.edu

Portrait of Sandra VellemanSandra Velleman

Professor
Department of Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center
velleman.1@osu.edu